Arts & Crafts, Challenge Yourself, Creativity, Writing

NaNoWriMo – But Not Only | November 2011, Day 5

The First NaNoWriMo 2011 Mid-Weekend Review

I’m beginning to have second thoughts about mixing a-post-a-day with writing a nove (even though I lowered my novel-goal to 25k)…but I’ll stick to it, for this year – maybe it gets better.

The problem? Basically, writing a blog post takes not more time than writing fiction… but my novel is first draft, and nobody will read it as it is.

My posts are published right away, which means revision, perhaps finding images or quotes, linking everything, formatting, editing and updating a few times because I keep finding flaws or forgot to add the right categories and tags. I should have thought that after 50+ posts this would be a routine procedure, but it’s still slow – and all those details eat a lot of my writing time. – My choice, my problem = challenge to find a solution.

“Magnifica” develops slowly, but I’m still satisfied with how it goes. The new scenes are interesting to write because I look at my characters from a different angle this time.

What also helps is my last year’s experience – mainly that I’m not worried anymore about getting stuck, and up to now it didn’t happen. I’m also much more relaxed – having practiced all year round how to switch my mind chatter off is paying off now: no total immersion, no early burn-out symptoms, getting other things done as well, and turning on writing mode within a couple of minutes.

It flows gently, but it flows.

How is it going for you? Have you met with specific problems or surpassed your expectations?

Maria

My word count Day 4: blog posts: 0 – novel: 750 = 3 pages

Btw: You can still join the Writing Buddies 🙂 – and it’s not too late to sign up for NaNoWriMo 2011, either 😉

Easy access to all posts this month via a new menu category: Specials >> November 2011: NaNoWriMo – But Not Only.

13 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – But Not Only | November 2011, Day 5”

    1. Thank you, rumpydog, that’s really nice of you 🙂 – Our two dogs, Bob and Scamp, only lift a sleepy eyelid “Oh no, not another late night…we’ve got to get up half past six in the morning…”

  1. Learning to flip the mental switches is a useful skill to have, even outside NaNoWriMo! I wish I did it a little more effectively. I’m editing someone’s memoir while trying to do NaNo, and shutting off the editor to engage the writer is a challenge. Nighttime = NaNo. That’s how I’m balancing it right now. During the day (8 to 5) I edit. Writing is in the evening after dinner.

    I’m impressed with how dedicated you are to maintaining your own comfortable pace….doing “your thing” and being happy with the results!

    Elizabeth

    1. I find it difficult to read someone else’s fiction while I’m writing my own. I may superficially switch off, but I think a lot is moving underneath. I joined two online writers’ groups (Scribophile and ForwardMotion), but realised that I can’t read others’ manuscripts as long as I’m actively working on my own. – Kudos to you for full-time editing AND writing for yourself!

      Being happy with the results comes from enjoying what I do (well, most of the time) – whatever the outcome, it’s just one step away from improvement 😉

  2. You are doing the best you can with the arrangement… Keep it up. Are we connected yet. I need to go in to check and then I will check your other posts for clues. 🙂

  3. I’d like to offer some really clever, inspirational advice on how to make writing easier. Unfortunately, I’m not sure there is any, other than … persistence.

    I can attest that once you’ve pushed through the barrier on any given day, it feels pretty good. 🙂

    1. I keep pushing… at least today I went (just) over my daily goal – trying to catch up bit by bit.
      Thank you, Eric; support in any form is always welcome 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!