The Enermazing Weekly Ticker (15) 14th – 20th November 2011

+ +++ +++ NaNowrimo – Tip of the week +++ +++ +

When things seem difficult or even hopeless, take another step. If you don’t know which direction to go, let the flow carry you on, just a little bit.

Don’t rely on the obvious, on what you think you see, hear, feel. Thinking blocks the flow, your strong invisible currents which carry you in the right direction with ease.

The last week of NaNoWriMo has begun; I haven’t written more than a few pages for the past two weeks – “the obvious” would be to call my this year’s NaNoWriMo experience a failure and to give up.

Under the surface however that voice, telling me that NaNoWriMo is just one little ripple in the context, has become much stronger: “Stop fiddling with details – trust in the context instead.”

Even if during week three you’ve discovered that your novel is going nowhere, or in the wrong direction, take it from there, do your best for the rest of November and trust in a writing life after NaNoWriMo.

If you’ve come to believe writing is not your thing at all, accept that for the time being. You may be right, or you may be wrong, but dissappointment is certainly the wrong time to make decisions.

+ +++ +++ Site News +++ +++ +

As I mentioned last Tuesday in my post “Playful Professionalism” I’ve been thinking lately about the value of playfulness. In fact, I was wondering how I could bring some more joy and playfulness into my life.

I’ve also written about “dogs”, the stubborn, insistent inner terrier and the inner Schweinehund, both of which bear no resemblance with our two real dogs, Bob and Scamp.

Relieved that I didn’t have to think about a blog post, I sat down early Wednesday morning and wrote two pages, but strangely enough I couldn’t concentrate, without any reason I could think of. After another half page, my husband arrived back from walking the dogs. On his arm was this:

little puppy

Wolfy - day one

With interruptions like someone gnawing at my toes, it’s already taken me one and a half hours to write these few lines, I’ve got to leave for work now… I’ll write more later, as soon as I get the opportunity…

For now just let me say that the dog rescue centers are overflowing. Yesterday we resigned to the fact that we’ve got a third dog and named him “Wolfy” :)

+ +++ +++ Quote(S) of the week  +++ +++ +

A process cannot be understood by stopping it. Understanding must move with the flow of the process, must join it and flow with it.
Frank Herbert, Dune

Grant me the sanity
to know that my first draft will suck;…
Sara Toole Miller

+ +++ +++ this & that +++ +++ +

My word count the past week: blog : …  – novel: 4 pages

6 responses to “The Enermazing Weekly Ticker (15) 14th – 20th November 2011

  1. Maria,

    Don’t worry if your writing isn’t good enough, or your topic isn’t relevant, or your blog posts aren’t interesting enough. Just write what comes out and let the inner critic take a holiday.

    If you don’t believe me, think of all the great improvisational comedians. If they bomb in one moment, they just keep coming back and trying something new in the next moment.

    And if you still don’t believe me, think back to the tv show Seinfeld. That group was the most watched show on tv for years. Their subject? Nothing. Absolutely nothing, the mundane, the routine. And they made it work brilliantly.

    Take care, and Happy Thanksgiving!

    Eric

    • I keep bombing, and I keep coming back, so I suppose I’m all-right :)

      Thank you so much for your encouragement, Eric! I hope you enjoyed the holiday.

  2. Maria,
    You are a joy to know and with or without the writings you are still a special lady. Wolfy is so cute… Anyone would pause to play with him… :-)

  3. Oh Dog! Wolfy is adorable! And who knows, he may turn out to be your muse!!!!

What do you think?

