The Enermazing Weekly Ticker (16) 21th – 27th November 2011

+ +++ +++ NaNowrimo – Tip of the week +++ +++ +

Nearing the end of NaNoWriMo with less than 10k, the best tip I can give you this year is not to stop – November may be over soon, but life goes on.

In case you are over 40k, you can still catch up (my last year’s experience). Go and get your certificate! :)

If not, consolidate. Take stock of what you’ve learned during the past 27 days, about writing and about life, about creating new habits or at least shaking up old ones.

+ +++ +++ Site News +++ +++ +

During this past week, I’ve hardly been on the computer. My email inbox is overflowing with unread blog subscriptions, I haven’t written a single comment, not browsed or surfed or “researched”.

What have I done instead? Increased my body awareness, with special emphasis on the senses of hearing and smell. Did you know that a slipper, a book and a computer cable produce different sounds when being chewed? Did you know that you can train your olfactory sense to make out directions and locations, instantly, the moment the origin of the smell is being produced? I didn’t, until ten days ago, but then again Bob and Scamp were already about three months old when we found them and ready to be house-trained. When we found the puppy last week, it was so young that didn’t even know yet that it had teeth, and now it’s experimenting with how it can put them to use. (Eating is not a problem – weight increase is 40% in 7 days.)

Wolfy-Stop-It! (which is his new name) is teaching us a lot of things, including taking play breaks when we didn’t even know we wanted them, and certainly living in the moment – using every opportunity, however small it may be, to get some of our daily chores done while avoiding to trip over him, or to wipe up another little mess while he tries to help us ;) I hope that as soon as he discovered all dimensions of his body (including his rear end) he’ll realise that not on all occasions it’s sufficient to have all four paws on the newspaper…

+ +++ +++ Quote of the week  +++ +++ +

When things go wrong, you’ll find they usually go on getting worse for some time; but when things once start to go right they often go on getting better and better.

C.S.Lewis, The Chronicles of Narnia

+ +++ +++ this & that +++ +++ +

My word count the past week: I’ve lost track with all my different wordcounts and what I updated or not. The only one I’m certain of is Magnifica, at about 8,000 total…

6 responses to “The Enermazing Weekly Ticker (16) 21th – 27th November 2011

  1. Sounds like you had a week where you were all just chewing things over? Very meditative!

    • :lol: Oh yeah, we had a lot on our plates lately, and not only funny bones…Hard to believe that it’s mostly through self-service.

  2. Ahhhh…life with puppies…lots of frustration and work, but where else can you get so many chuckles, smiles and laughs as you get when watching puppies??? : )

    • With babies and toddlers – but they’re also a whole lot more work… ;) After the second day I actually thought about ways of how to fit Wolfy with a diaper, but stopped when I realised I’d have to change those diapers and clean Wolfy about two dozen times a day…

  3. Maria, if you noticed, I’ve fallen behind too… It must have to do with the end of year and the lose ends that need to be handled… I’m barreling through my mail now. Oy vey! Are you on LinkedIn? Send me an email with your details and I’ll send you a connection invite. :-)

    • I’ve joined Linkedin a couple of weeks ago (Maria Hoffmeister), but haven’t done much yet, not even filled in the profile…so much is changing at the moment, I don’t really know what to write…
      Thank you very much for your offer anyway :)

What do you think?

