My Own Pair Of Glasses

A few days ago, I tried to be clever.

When I work away from home, I usually put anything special in my bag the night before and routine stuff before I leave. Every once in a while I forget something in the morning rush.

That morning, just as I came from the bathroom, I saw both my husband’s and my reading glasses lying on the table, his a black metal skeleton with a brown chain, mine grey with a black chain; and neither of us could tell a dog from a cat looking through the other’s pair. I better take my glasses now, I thought, so I won’t pick up the wrong pair in the rush. I put my pair in its case and right away in my bag.

Shortly after I arrived at work, my husband phoned to wish me a fun day – with his reading glasses.

Lessons learned: 1. When trying to be clever, check again what I’m doing. 2. Only my own glasses let me see the world my way.

For lack of something better to do ;) , I thought about how often we see the world through glasses which are not our own…

  • …following shoulds and musts which others have created
  • …not giving in to our intuition, but repeating “how we’ve always done it”
  • …getting stuck with our obsolete beliefs about how things are or should be
  • …defining our goals by comparison with what others do and are successful with
  • …entering the wrong “competitions” with others
  • …lazy thinking, that is not thinking for ourselves

…What are your examples, from your life, of looking through someone else’s glasses. Or in which cases has putting on your own glasses led to joy and success?

Maria

9 responses to “My Own Pair Of Glasses

  1. Great points. It can be hard to trust that the lenses we use to view the world are the best ones we can get but like your glasses story we are stuck with them as we are individuals and in terms of effectiveness we will ‘read’ the world best if we learn to use ours! Great analogy!

    • Yes, we’re stuck with them – and while that sounds limitating, it also means that 1. it allows us to focus in an individual way on individual solutions which contribute to the variety of the Pool, and 2. at any given moment we’ve already got all we need. Very liberating, isn’t it? :)

  2. Too often the glasses I look through are rose-coloured… I seem to block out from my vision a lot of the ugly in the world, focusing instead on the beauty of people and the world, not realistic but healthy and it reduces stress.

    • Why are rose-coloured glasses said to be unrealistic? We create our own reality, and contribute to the realities of others. With your wonderful photos for instance you make us aware of parts of reality which we would pass without noticing them. Your individual focus opens up new worlds and perspectives for others :)

      I liked especially your last post on “waiting” – abstract concepts are often hard to catch in non-moving pictures, and you found a whole palette full!

  3. Oops. THat must have been a bit awkward. I wonder if yu could manage without your own reading glasses. Very good points you make as well

    • I managed, sort of, by avoiding any reading glass related activities ;)
      Thank you, Peter (no worry about the wrong box, everything arrived )

  4. Lovely!
    I’ve just received a diagnosis of osteoarthritis and have my right (dominant hand) in a rigid splint for 4 weeks.
    I also just began reading the book, How to Train a Wild Elephant: & Other Adventures in Mindfulness, and the first exercise is to use your non-dominant hand for ordinary tasks… a whole new perspective in NOT doing things as I’ve always done them.

    • Using our non-dominant hand is a fantastic exercise! Not only does it improve coordination, it also helps us to focus on the essence of an activity rather than on the activity itself – simply by keeping our “thinking” brain busy :)
      Thank you for stopping by, Grace :)

  5. Brilliant! I love the analogy of the reading glasses. We do need to put our own shades on to vie the world… not someone else’s. :-)
    TY for your patience as I have been adjusting to a changed schedule … Glad to comment again. :-)

What do you think?

