The Enermazing Weekly Ticker (4)

+ +++ +++ Site News +++ +++ +

Testing the schedule for a month led to some insights:

Topic of the week: One week is not enough to explore a topic the way I want to. Instead of giving structure to this blog, it limits its potential.

Featured: For many topics of the weeks (talking about those to come) it’s difficult to find appropriate blogs or projects which I would like to feature.

Weekly Ticker: Too much of a mix-and-match. At the moment I still prefer this format to three-line-posts, but I’ll only insert items I find interesting, rather than search for bits to fill each and every category.

Have-Your-Say-Day: Might make sense once this blog has more traffic – but then again, any day you can say what you want 🙂

My life rhythm: Is only to a certain extent predictable – and I prefer it this way (well, I could do without my computer crashing due to overheating – I’m looking forward to winter). It means though that unless I write and schedule posts a few weeks ahead I may not find the time to produce an article of the quality and length I’d like.

Content and presentation: The recent break in my schedule made me browse through my previous posts. OK, I have added photos and quotes, but on a whole they look more and more like excerpts from a textbook. In my experience, when the author gets bored the readers will be bored as well :/

Conclusion: A blog, to me, is organic, needs space and time to grow. Instead of trying once again to press it into a template (just to do something “reasonable” with it), I’ll continue testing and refining until this blog becomes what it wants to become.

PS: My comments on other blogs: Due to my irregular work load, I have more or less time to comment on your blog. Out of sight is not out of mind – when I like it, be sure I’ll visit again 🙂

Update: I just read Reflections: Lessons From The Blogging Journey… “Revisiting our blogging style and goals is imperative.” – Thank you for this booster, Eliz 🙂

+ +++ +++ Quote of the week  +++ +++ +

A Day Is…

A day is a gift, give thanks for it.
A day is an opportunity, seize it.
A day is a journey, travel it.
A day is beauty, see it.
A day is precious, cherish it.
A day is life, live it.

Poem courtesy Wyletter Whaley throughhereyesblog.com – Thank you, Wyletter 🙂

+ +++ +++ This & That +++ +++ +

Have you been yet to Kate’s Crochet Market? Kate Jenkins, based in Brighton/UK, has stitched up food found on supermarket shelves.

Heinz Tomato Stitchup, Hotdogs in Wool, Sequined Scampi Fries and other delicacies – which is YOUR favourite?

You’re not into wool? Well, then maybe you are interested in this motorbike made from lobster shells, created by Taiwanese food carving artist Huang Mingbo.

Bon appetit 🙂

Can you think of a friend or colleague who might be interested in this post? For instant email click on the button below.

4 responses to “The Enermazing Weekly Ticker (4)

  1. Good for you Maria to review and take stock of what’s happening with you and your blog. I agree with the idea that it is organic in nature and takes it’s own path to evolve… Keep it up and thank you for the mention. 🙂

  2. Good on you for being so self-aware and thoughtful in your blogging, it sure is a crazy journey and its all about trial and error! I absolutely adore that quote “A Day Is…” A day is a journey, travel it. Just beautiful! Keep up the great work. 🙂

    Cat

    • Thank you, Cat 🙂

      My thoughts are usually not that organised, meaning I come to conclusions more often through “intuition” than “thinking” – there are so many ways or approaches to getting results or reaching one’s goals.

      As a teacher though I’ve learned that detailed step-by-step examples show the process behind the results. I hope that others may benefit from insights into these different processes, no matter what results they want to achieve.

      Re Wyletter’s uplifting poem: As soon as I read it I asked her permission to post it 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

