Challenge Yourself, Creativity, Realise your dreams, Writing, Writing Buddies November 2011

NaNoWriMo 2011 | Looking For Writing Buddies

Yesterday I signed up for NaNoWriMo, knowing very well that due to other obligations there’s no way I can make it all the way through to the 50k words.

Today I realised that I can’t participate officially because what I’m itching to do is to – finally – finish an old project with the working title “Magnifica Revisited”.

My personal solution: To commit myself to writing 25k words of fiction from 1st to 30th November 2011, which will be difficult enough to reach this year.

I’ve placed a progress meter in the sidebar. As I prefer writing the first draft by hand (and an exact word count is a bit of a bother, as I remember from the last NaNoWriMo), I’ll update word count by page average, counting only entirely new scenes.

Note: To get your own free html progress meter, log in to storytoolz and follow the instructions.

"writing buddies" (by Sandro Botticelli)
"writing buddies" by Sandro Botticelli - and, no, that's not the original title πŸ˜‰

Official participant or not, I’ll pop in to NaNoWriMo now and then – I don’t want to miss the pep talks πŸ˜‰ – and I’m looking for writing buddies.

If you’d like to be my writing buddy, state your commitment in the comment section below. I’ll create a blog post for every day in November where you can update your daily progress.

Let’s do it! πŸ˜€

Maria

46 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011 | Looking For Writing Buddies”

  1. I jumped on board myself… albeit reluctantly. It is my 3rd year at it and I take it very seriously. The difference from other years is that I have lots of writing projects this year. Anyway, we can connect and friend each other on the site… I think I mentioned it already. I wont be doing a daily post on it or adding it to a public space as I plan to publish them later. Best wishes! πŸ™‚

    1. Hi, Jessica – dendrina just sent you a buddy request πŸ™‚ Thanks!
      Your wordcount is impressive – keep it flowing πŸ™‚
      Btw, I check my NaNoMail only about twice a week, else I don’t get any writing done…

  2. Hey I did the 50,000 words, whether i make it to the publishing or not my system is thoroughlycleansed. I cried, honored all the negative feelings, poured out to the novel and presto I am free. I really liked your writing.:)

    1. You did it! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Congratulations! As you describe your writing as a cleansing process and a path to freedom, does it matter that much whether you go all the way to publishing? You’ve written it, it’s there for you to decide any time what you want to do with it.
      Thank you, Parwati πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear what you think!

